Breaking News
Home » All News » CJN Inaugurates Thirteen-Man Judiciary Reform Committee

CJN Inaugurates Thirteen-Man Judiciary Reform Committee

The Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Walter Onnoghen has inaugurated a thirteen -man steering committee on judiciary reform.

The committee headed by the Secretary of the National Judicial Service Commission, Mrs. Bilkisu Bashir, was tasked “to coordinate a comprehensive reform of the country’s judiciary”.

The Senior Special Assistant on Media to the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Awassam Bassey, said  in a statement that the committee was given a month to submit its report.
The statement explains that an Assistant Director of Administration in the Supreme Court of Nigeria, Mr. Royal Sunday Issah, will serve as the Secretary of the committee.

Other members of the 13-member committee include Directors of Administration from the Federal Judicial Service Commission, the Supreme Court of Nigeria, the National Judicial Council, Federal High Court, Court of Appeal, Sharia Court of Appeal, Customary Court of Appeal, Federal Capital Territory High Court, National Industrial Court and the President of the Judicial Staff Union of Nigeria.

Justice Onnoghen mandated the committee to call for memoranda from former Chief Justices of Nigeria, Presidents of the Court of Appeal, Chief Registrars, “and other stakeholders on the way forward”.



Check Also

Some Commercial Drivers in Benin continue to pick passengers above specified number

TweetSome Commercial drivers in Benin city pick passengers above the specified number by the state …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll Up