Thursday, February 20, 2020
Breaking News
Home » All News » Esama of Benin, others conferred with National Awards

Esama of Benin, others conferred with National Awards

The Esama of Benin, and honourary Romanian Consul to Edo and Delta States, His Excellency, Sir, Chief, Doctor Gabriel Osawaru Igbinedion has been conferred with the National Award in the rank of the Commander of the Federal Republic, CFR, by President Doctor Goodluck Jonathan at a colorful ceremony in Abuja.

Sharon Ajayi reports that the Esama of Benin was among one hundred and fifty distinguished Nigerians conferred with various rank of National Award by the President in recognitions of their meritorious contributions to national development.

Addressing the recipients, and dignitaries present, President Goodluck Jonathan while congratulating them advised them not to relent in their efforts in moving the nation forward, pointing out that if found wanting the award with be withdrawn.

Also speaking, secretary to the government of the Federation, Senator Ayim Pius Ayim and Chairman, National Awards Committee, Justice Alfa Belgore said the award to recognize Nigerians who have demonstrate exceptional commitment and attained achievements by dint of hard work.

According to them, the recipients were subjected to scrutiny by the President before they were adjudged to be conferred with national award.

 Responding on behalf of the recipients Justice Mary Odili while thanking the President for the honour done them, promised to work harder to move the nation forward in their various fields of endeavor.

Among those conferred with the national award of CFR include Justice Suleiman Galadima, the Inspector-General of Police, Mohammed Abubakar and Brigadier Mobolaji Johnson, Rtd, a former Governor of Lagos State.

Standing alone in the category of the Grand Commander of the Niger (GCON) was Doctor Mike Adenuga Chief Executive Officer, and Oil Magnate.

The Governor of Benue, Delta and Ebonyi were conferred with the rank of the Commander of the Order of the Niger, CON.

Other awards were Officer of the Federal Republic, OFR; Officer of the Order of Niger, OON; Member of the Order of the Federal Republic, MFR; which was bestowed on the Bishop, Anglican Communion, Benin Diocese, Right Reverend Peter Imasuen, and Member of the Order of the Niger, MON which was bestowed on six paralympians

Since the inception of the National Honours Award in 1963, a total of Four thousand, two hundred and seventy five (4,275) Nigerians have been decorated.



Check Also

Chairman Esan North East L.G. Austine Okibhole inaugurates polio immunization plus days

TweetChairman of Esan North East Local Government, Austin Okoibhole has restated his administration commitment in …

Scroll Up