Breaking News
Home » All News » President Buhari pardons Alli, Enahoro, 3 others

President Buhari pardons Alli, Enahoro, 3 others

President Muhammadu Buhari has granted amnesty to five ex-convicts among who are first Executive Governor of the defunct Bendel State, late Professor Ambrose Alli, late Chief Anthony Enahoro, Ex Lieutenant Colonel Moses Effiong, Major E. J Olanrewaju, and Mister Ajay I. Olusola Babalola.

The President also granted a presidential pardon to two thousand, six hundred 2,600 nationwide with seventy inmates from Kuje Correctional Centre as beneficiaries.

Speaking at a news conference in Abuja, Minister of Interior, Rauf Aregbesola, explains that after the release of the first phase of inmates, the committee on Presidential amnesty will continue to meet regularly to consider those who deserve the benefit.

Also speaking at the occasion, the Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami, says the United Nations had called the nations of the world to reduce the number of inmates in custodial centres in view of social distancing attitude.

While describing the flag off of the 2020 presidential pardon as historic, Mr Malami said the process of selecting beneficiaries started in 2018.

He also urged the community to open their hands and receive the beneficiaries without stigmatisation.

He lamented that 70 percent of inmates in Nigeria’s correctional centers are awaiting trial.



Check Also

Delta State Govt. inaugurates production of Local Fabrics Akwa-Ocha

Tweet Comments comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll Up