Breaking News
Home » All News » S/S, S/E govs agree on economic, political integration

S/S, S/E govs agree on economic, political integration

The governors of states in the South-South and South East parts of the country have agreed on economic and political integration.

The decision is contained in a communiqué read on behalf of the governors by Gov. Liyel Imoke of Cross River and his Anambra counterpart, Mr Peter Obi.

The communique was released at the end of a three-hour meeting the governors held on Sunday in Asaba, Delta.

According to the governors, the meeting became necessary to review the state of the nation and address topical issues confronting the country.

“We have agreed on economic and political integration of the Eastern and Mid-Western regions, now known as the South-South and South-East regions,” they said.

The governors pledged to strengthen co-operation across board with particular focus on development of infrastructure within the region.

They however called on the Federal Government to address issues of kidnapping and pipeline vandalism which have had negative impact on the nation.

“This will make the region attractive to investors,” the governors said.

They also lauded President Goodluck Jonathan’s “resolve to confront terror by whosoever and from wherever it occurs in the country to stamp out evil in the society”.

The governors urged all Nigerians to adopt dialogue and peaceful means in addressing issues in the country.

They also urged the federal government to rehabilitate all rail lines linking the states in the region, construct cargo airports and build sea ports in the region.

The governors also agreed to revive agro-allied industries, particularly the oil palm and rubber plantations which the region used to have a comparative advantage in over others.

Report says that the meeting had in attendance nine governors as well as the Rivers Deputy Governor, Mr Tele Ikuru, while Adams Oshiomhole of Edo was not present.

The governors in attendance were Emmanuel Uduaghan (host Delta), Seriake Dickson (Bayelsa), Martin Elechi (Ebonyi), Theodore Orji (Abia) and Peter Obi (Anambra).

The rest are Godswill Akpabio (Akwa Ibom), Sullivan Chime (Enugu) and Liyel Imoke of Cross River, while Rochas Okorocha of Imo joined the meeting later.



Check Also

Suspects lead police to where Sunny Etchie was killed and buried

Tweet Police have discovered where the Okaigele of Kolokolo Community, Sunny Etchie was allegedly killed …

Scroll Up